Skip to content

jewish studies term 1

The brit milah

Baby boy gets a brit milah at the age of 8 days old. They do it because it shows their covenant with god. If a child will not do it they get cut off from their family.

pidyon haben

The father has to pay the money worth of 5 silver coins to the cohen for the redemption of the firstborn. They have to pay the money because of the golden calf.

Baby naming

Baby girls often receive their names after the Torah is read at the synagogue.

Rabbi recites a prayer for the health of the mother and child and the name is announced.

A boy is named at his brit milah (circumcision) when he enters into the covenant of Abraham.

Here is the Jewish life cycle.

Baby Naming

Brit Milah

Pidyon Ha-Ben

Upsherin

Bar/Bat Mitzvah

Minyan

Tallit

Tefillin

Kashrut

Marriage

Engagement

Mikvah

Wedding Ceremony

Ketubah

Divorce (Get)

Death

Cemetery/Burial

Shiva

Kaddish

Yizkor

We learned about baby naming, the Brit milah, pidyon haben, and shalom zachar.

 

For my mishpacha project, I gave info on my family. Here it is.

For this assignment, we had to make a presentation about our family.

This project told me a lot about my family. I learned about my great Zadia Sam who fought in World War Two. I learned that my mama’s mom’s sister was a seamstress for the military. For next time I would improve my writing and spelling. I am Ashkanazi.

Published inUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar